Wk5 – Activity – Ethnogrophy

Snapchat-4685001257588894722

For this week’s activity we had to go one night without using any electricity. Of course this was going to be very difficult because we are so dependent on electricity. I decided I was going to be in my room and not use any electricity. Around 6:30 P.M. I was getting settled and i told my mom to hide my phone somewhere because I knew I was going to be tempted. I had a candle set up and I had books and my homework. By 9:00 P.M. I finished my homework and i no longer wanted to read. I was beginning to feel stressed because there was nothing to do. I went to the kitchen and i opened the refrigerator, as soon as I saw the light I remembered and I closed it quickly and went back to my room disappointed in myself. I was having a hard time going to sleep, I was wondering if I was missing anything interesting in my social networks. I began to start getting sleepy, I think it helped that I had gone to the gym before I got home. I slept quickly after and I had a great night’s sleep. It was not something I would do again but it did really open my eyes how we take electricity for granted and it amazes me how there are still people today that will be going to sleep without the use of electricity.

Leave a Reply

